Throwing the dice

As a Brazilian person, I always liked to spend New Year’s Eve at the beach. We have a whole ritual for luck for the year that’s coming and December 31st is really a day to reflect about the year that is ending and to think about the things you want to accomplish for the next year. NYE is my favorite holidays and I love to follow all the rituals and beliefs the Brazilian culture taught me for this day of the year.

Since I moved to Ireland I had to resign my favorite holidays since I’d look like an idiot by spending NYE on the beach, obviously! In 2013 I was decided to spend December 31st in a warm country so I could do the whole shebang again! And so I did. I saw 2013 turning into 2014 by the beach, wearing a white dress, bare foot on the sand while I watched the fireworks and lanterns in the Cambodian sky at midnight. It was magical once again and since I did all the luck ritual I was convinced that 2014 would be a great year!

Well, I guess I was wrong… I had no idea that 2014 would be as challenging as it was. I wasn’t prepared for what was about to happen and to the lessons life would taught me. In 2014 I learned that health is the only thing that matters in life! Without this we can’t achieve happiness, success, peace and all the other things everybody wishes us. But more than health, the most precious thing we all have is FAMILY! Family is really everything and the only thing we have in life!

I have a great relationship with mine and we have always been united but man, I never thought life would test our strength. Actually, I never thought life would test our faith! We are not really a religious family, I have never had a first communion and probably went to mass 2 times in my life against my free will. But what religion has to do with faith you ask? Well, absolutely nothing! It doesn’t matter if you are Catholic, Jewish, Mormon, Protestant or whatever you want to be, what matters is that you believe in something bigger than all of us. This is what faith is!

Faith and hope are really the strongest feelings out there, no doubt about it. I now understand the expression “those who have faith move mountains” and I can tell you that in 2014 my family and I moved a hell of a mountain! We like to joke that God looked at us one day and said “This family is way too happy. Nothing bad happens in their lives so maybe is time to shake things up a bit just to remind them that life isn’t perfect”. But maybe what He wanted was to get us connected to our spiritual side once again… He certainly achieved his goal and I’m thankful for that!

I don’t think we really pay attention to how fragile life is, well I didn’t! Anything can change in a split of a second, for better or for worse. Someone out there rolls the dice on your behalf and whatever they land is what you’ll get. If it lands in the bad side, just remember that faith can move mountains!

Maybe 2014 was not a good year for me in my personal life since I had to deal with some scary and unstable days but I definitely learned that love is the best medicine and that family is what strives me to survive. We can have the whole Atlantic once in between us but that will never, ever, define what we are or separate us! We can go through some dark days or months but in the end, we will always be able to smile again because we have each other.

I hope that 2015 will be full of happiness. No more scary moments, no more being afraid of a phone call in the middle of then night, no more tears. That in 2015 I am able to smile more, laugh louder, achieve my goals and I keep loving and being loved! I have big hopes for this year that rises and I do know that I am the only one who can make it happen. What about the dice? Well, I do hope that they will land in the good side this year and every year.

2 thoughts on “Throwing the dice”

  1. my dear, 2015 will be so much better!!! You are one of the most optimistic person that I know (and yet very realistic) so keep it up.
    Saúde pra todos nós e o resto a gente corre atrás 😉
    Love you ❤️

  2. BEAUTIFUL Sury!!!!!
    What a wonderful human being you are.
    Inspirational & powerful thoughts ❤ …
    Every time we talk and see each other you make such a difference in the way how I perceive some situations in life. You make a difference Amiga!
    Love you Sury!!!
    Dices will be landing in the good side this year!
    Good Health to us all!!
    XXXXXXX

Leave a Reply

