Thanks to All

I always liked to write. I remember receiving a little diary for Christmas once, that ones with a lock on the side, and I was so happy! But diary or no diary, I always had a notepad, a notebook or a piece of paper and a pen with me so I could write down the things inside of my head.

Those who know me, know that I’m a very opinionated person that always has something to say. I have been like this since very young! Many times I was brought to the principal’s office because I either questioned the teacher’s decision, because I didn’t do what I was told to do or simply because I had a different point of view of my teacher.

My mom told me that when I was 5 years old, the teacher (which was also a nun) asked the class to draw curved lines, “like the waves on the Ocean” she said. Hearing that, the little creative me also drew a boat on top of the so-called “waves of the Ocean”. As you can expect from a Catholic tuition, the nun was not happy about it and asked me to erase the boat as she did not ask for us to draw that. Well, maybe most of kids would just erase the boat, but not me. I looked at the nun and asked her why I should erase the boat because in my Ocean, there are boats. I would love to remember this scene so I could see the nun’s face. Can you imagine? A 5 year old kid confronting the authority of a nun? As you can guess, my mom was called to the principal’s office and was told that I did not behave myself in class that day, as I did not do what the teacher told me to do.

After knowing the facts, my mom had to laugh. It would have been bad to tell this story to any mom, but even worse when this mom is a psychologist! Of course my mom’s answer was that she was proud of me. She raised her daughters to be inquisitive and to stand up for what they believe. I love my mom and I really like to hear this story too. Whenever I doubt myself, I like to think about this story so I remember who I am, who I have always been.

When I was 6 or 7, my school gathered the best essays from students from the whole school and put it together in a book. The book was printed and sold during an author’s signature night event. Yes, my essay was picked to be part of the book and I was the happiest kid in the world! I signed every book with pride and in that moment, I knew that I’d be a writer!

Well, you all know that my life went  a different direction, but I will never stop writing (again)! The inquisitive me will always have a pen and paper in hand (or in this case, a laptop) so I can quickly write down the silly thoughts that come to my head. Should I share them with strangers? Maybe not, but you never know who cares about what I write. Maybe there are some people out there who enjoy my posts? I know for fact that my boyfriend and mom do at the very least!

My mom has always been my biggest fan (as you can expect). She always said “You write so well. You have talent. I’m still waiting for your book to be published”. How can we live without the support of a mom? They make you believe you are capable of doing anything! Even when everyone else knows you are not.

I write this Blog for myself, to keep true to who I am. We all have a stage in our lives that we get lost and it’s so easy to forget who you are. I also had this phase and it was not nice. After a long time being lost, I found myself again and that’s why I am blogging: to remind myself that I love to write!

My boyfriend (which I will refer to as G) has been incredibly supportive! He is the one always reminding me that I haven’t written a post in X amount of days, that I’m good at this… I like to think he’s my editor. Thank you G. It was also him that told me, without any hesitation, to send my last post (I’m Irish 365 days a year) to an Irish media channel to have it published. Even though few of you have told me that you enjoy my blog, I still have to admit that I don’t really think my posts are that good.

At first I thought G was crazy – or just too much in love with me- and didn’t think any website/newspaper would be interested in publishing my article. I decided to trust him and I sent it to TheJournal.ie. I was very surprised (honestly!) when the editor of the Opinion section came back to me saying she thought my article was “really heartfelt and interesting” and their readers would really like it. The next day, which was yesterday, the article was published on TheJournal.ie’s website with my name and picture on it! Can you believe? Me, a girl whose first language is not English had an article published in English! I can’t describe how satisfactory this means and feels!

The article received great reaction and for this, I couldn’t be happier. As I’m writing this post, the article received 18,118 views and 147 comments on TheJournal.ie’s website. It has also been shared 182 times on Facebook, 42 on Twitter and 56 by email. My blog has also received a lot of traffic.

Between yesterday and now, this simple blog received 450 views from all over the world: Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Mexico, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, United States and the UK. No, I’ve never imagined that the reaction would be so great. Yes, the article received many irrelevant comments but I only read the good ones, which was the majority anyway.

If you are a regular or a new reader, I’d like to say thank you! Thank you for sparing few minutes of your day to read the silly things I have to write. Thank you for your support and thank you for making me believe that, maybe, my mom was right!

3 thoughts on “Thanks to All”

  1. Congratulations on your recent publish on a BIG webbie! I can totally relate to you. I am an engineer, but I love writing so much I write whenever I can. Your boyfriend is adorable. Same as mine, he would always boost up me ego, telling everyone I write so well.

    You have inspired me to send my works to be published too. 🙂 Yay for writing. Cheers for life! And oh, I can totally relate about Ireland. I loooooove the place. Been staying here for quite a while now. Training. Just for 3 months, but I am so going to miss this lovely place.

    1. Thank you so much for your nice comment Miss`Chievous. I’m glad you like the post and that somehow I inspired you. Believe in yourself 🙂 I like your blog too. Keep coming back please!

  2. Sury, your Mom was of course 100% correct, you have great talent! Keep writing, I love reading your blogs. I especially loved the above blog and could just picture this 5 year old little girl who really knew her own mind & would not erase the boat from the picture you drew. This made me laugh so much, most 5 year olds would have complied or started to cry but not you, well done. I went to school with the nuns also and most were pretty scary! Keep up the good work, from all your fans in Cork.☺

Leave a Reply

